bohica89

Summoner Discussions/Concepts

The purpose of this thread is to discuss and share the communities' thoughts and ideas about what a "Summoner" means to them. Keep in mind that anyone sharing their thoughts should not be viewed as wrong as this is their own opinion on the subject.

I'll start off by saying, I've been playing MMORPGs for more than 15 years and I've experienced probably 30 (if not more) different MMORPGs. I've experienced the good and the bad. My obsession with MMORPGs first started when my older brother let me use his Ultima Online account for the first time back in 1997. I was 8 years old. Since those moments, I fell in love with the fantasy aspects of character building, storytelling, PVP, etc.

Over the years, since those good ol'days, I've definitely noticed a sense of polarizing or warping sense of what makes a "good" MMORPG game instead of focusing on what works, but I digress.

Summoners to me, mean that this class type might be summoning something of some sort. (say that ten times fast).
If we break down the word, "summoner", we will get things like a Warlock, Elementalist, Conjurer, Ritualist, etc. Any words associated with summoning an object would fit here as well.

When we talk about a summoning type class in general, we tend to lend more towards having some sort of pet inside the game world that we would control at our will. This would be the industry norm when you look at the other games featuring a summoning type class similar to controlling some sort of demon, monster, creature, "a pet" used in combat situations.

A summoner to me just typically means I get to summon something to use, in-game, on how I see fit within the actual game environment. Whether beneficial in nature or something purely cosmetic.